

Government Gazette

of the State of

New South Wales

Number 8 Thursday, 31 January 2019

The New South Wales Government Gazette is the permanent public record of official NSW Government notices. It also contains local council, private and other notices.

From 1 January 2019, each notice in the Government Gazette has a unique identifier that appears in round brackets at the end of the notice and that can be used as a reference for that notice (for example, (n2019-14)).

The Gazette is compiled by the Parliamentary Counsel's Office and published on the NSW legislation website (www.legislation.nsw.gov.au) under the authority of the NSW Government. The website contains a permanent archive of past Gazettes.

To submit a notice for gazettal – see Gazette Information.

By Authority
Government Printer

ISSN 2201-7534

THE ROYAL SOCIETY OF NEW SOUTH WALES

(constituted under the Royal Society of New South Wales Incorporation Act 1881)

His Excellency, General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC(Ret'd), Governor of New South Wales, as Patron of The Royal Society of New South Wales and in furtherance of the aims of the Society in encouraging and rewarding the study and practice of Science, Art, Literature and Philosophy, is pleased to advise and acknowledge the election of the following as Fellows and Distinguished Fellows of the Society.

Michael Miller RFD Official Secretary Governor of New South Wales

FELLOWS

The following proven leaders and experts in their field were in the course of 2018 admitted/elevated as Fellows of the Society, entitled to use the post nominal FRSN. Please note Professorial titles - including adjuncts, conjoint, and professors of practice - have been used where applicable. Details as to their field of expertise, their resident university (or universities) or institution may be ascertained from the Royal Society of New South Wales.

AMAL, Scientia Professor Rose Amal AC FRSN

AUSTIN-BROOS, Professor Emerita Diane Austin-Broos FRSN

BATHURST, The Honourable Chief Justice Thomas Bathurst AC FRSN QC

BELOV, Professor Katherine Belov FRSN

BHATHAL, Dr Ragbir Bhathal FRSN

BIRD, Professor Trevor Bird FRSN

BLACKBURN, Air Vice Marshal John Blackburn AO FRSN

BORODY, Professor Thomas Borody FRSN

BROADBENT, Chancellor Dr Jillian Broadbent AO FRSN

BUTLER, Rear Admiral (USA) John Butler CBE FRSN DSM(US)

CARMICHAEL, Professor David Carmichael FRSN

CARTER, Emeritus Professor John Carter AM FRSN

CHOUCAIR, Dr Mohammad Choucair FRSN

COMPTON, Professor Mark Compton AM FRSN

COVELL, Emeritus Professor Roger Covell AM FRSN

DAVIS, Emeritus Professor Jeremy Davis AM FRSN

DI PIETRO, Commodore Vincenzo Di Pietro AM CSC FRSN

DOOLEY, Professor Anthony Dooley FRSN

EDMOND, Professor Gary Edmond FRSN

FARNSWORTH, Dr Alan Farnsworth AM FRSN

HARRIS, Chancellor Mr James Harris FRSN

HARRISON, Conjoint Professor Alexander Harrison FRSN

HIBBERD, Professor Adrian Hibberd FRSN

HILTON, Dr John Hilton FRSN

HINTZE, Sir Michael Hintze AM FRSN

HUPPERT, Emeritus Professor Herbert Huppert FRS FRSN

HUSH, Dr David Hush FRSN

HUSH, Associate Professor Julia Hush FRSN

HUTCHINSON, Chancellor Ms Belinda Hutchinson AM FRSN

JEFFERY, Dr, Major General, The Honourable Philip Michael Jeffery AC AO(Mil) CVO MC FRSN

KARA, Professor Sami Kara FRSN

KARSKENS, Professor Grace Karskens FRSN

KINGSFORD, Professor Richard Kingsford FRSN

KIRBY, The Honourable Michael Kirby AC CMG FRSN

LOOSLEY, Mr Stephen Loosley AM FRSN

MacDONALD, Professor Heather MacDonald FRSN

MACKIE, Professor Vera Mackie FRSN

MASON, The Honourable, Sir Anthony Mason AC KBE FRSN QC

MIDDLETON, Emeritus Professor Jason Middleton FRSN

MORONEY, Commissioner (Rtd) Dr Kenneth Moroney AO FRSN

NEW, Associate Professor Elizabeth New FRSN

OZDOWSKI, Commissioner (Rtd) Dr Seweryn Ozdowski AM FRSN

PALMER, Mr George Palmer AM FRSN QC

POND, Dr Susan Pond AM FRSN

QUILTY, Dr Ben Quilty FRSN

RICHARDS, Honorary Professor Evelleen Richards FRSN

SAHAJWALLA, Scientia Professor Veena Sahajwalla FRSN

SENGELMAN, Major General Jeffrey Sengelman DSC AM CSC FRSN

SHARPE, Ms Wendy Sharpe FRSN

SILBERBERG, Dr Ronald Silberberg AO FRSN

SMITH, Professor Lee Smith FRSN

SPENCE, Vice Chancellor and President Dr Michael Spence AC FRSN

STODDART, Professor Sir James (Fraser) Stoddart FRS FRSN

STORRIER, Dr Timothy Storrier AM FRSN

SWAN, Professor Peter Swan AO FRSN

TABBAA, Commissioner (Rtd) Ms Inaam Tabbaa AM FRSN

THOMAS, Mr Robert Thomas AM FRSN

TISDELL, Professor Christopher Tisdell FRSN

TORERO, Dr Jose Torero FRSN

TROWELL, Dr Stephen Trowell FRSN

VANN, Vice Chancellor and President Andrew Vann FRSN

WATERHOUSE, Emeritus Professor Richard Waterhouse FRSN

WELLINGS, Vice Chancellor and President Professor Paul Wellings CBE FRSN

WILLIAMSON, Professor Geordie Williamson FRS FRSN

WILLIS, Professor George Willis FRSN

ZHAO, Professor Chuan Zhao FRSN

The following had been previously admitted as Fellow of the Society but were not appropriately attributed in the NSW Government Gazette.

FLAMBAUM Scientia Professor Victor Flambaum FRSN

GRIFFIN, Dr Desmond Griffin AM FRSN
HILL, Emeritus Professor Stephen Hill AM FRSN
HERRMANN, Dr Jan Herrmann FRSN
IRISH, Associate Professor Muireann Irish FRSN
MOYAL, Dr Ann Moyal AM FRSN
ROBERTS, Scientia Professor John Roberts FRSN
TAYLOR, Professor Mark Taylor FRSN

(n2019-207)